Three-year-old Dakota hugs her father, Sgt.  Commander Charles Latour.  Photo by Chris Stone
Photo in first place for still photography, news, showed Dakota. 3, embracing his father, Marine Sgt. Commander Charles Latour. Photo by Chris Stone

The Times of San Diego took home 23 awards — including best local news site for the sixth time — at the San Diego Press Club Excellence in Journalism Awards on Tuesday in Balboa Park. Ten entries took first place.

Ken and Chris Stone present ribbons representing their combined 19 awards at the San Diego Press Club event. Photo by Pauline Repard

Contributing photographer Chris Stone and contributing editor Ken Stone, a married couple from La Mesa, took home 10 and 9 of these awards for reporting, photography and video, respectively. They collaborated on two projects.

Chris Stone swept all three locations in news photography.

Del Mar’s Chris Jennewein, the site’s 8-year-old editor and publisher, won individual first-place plaques for his election coverage and commentary. JW August took first place for a multicultural story.

“It’s an honor for an independent news site to be recognized as San Diego’s Best for the sixth time,” Jennewein said. “Thanks to Ken, Chris, JW and everyone on our team, Times of San Diego continues to attract new readers and receive professional recognition.”

Hundreds of people gathered in the courtyards of international houses for the club’s 49th annual event, the first in-person awards gathering since 2019, enjoying food and drinks at 20 local restaurants and a host of country houses representing nations ranging from Israel to Germany.

Nicole Vargas, a journalism professor at San Diego City College, became the latest president of the 51-year-old club that includes print, online and broadcast journalists as well as public relations professionals and students.

Special awards were presented to three men, honoring their careers in news, public relations and media management.

They were CBS8 reporter Steve Fiorina (Harold Keen Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism), binational public relations officer Jorge D’Garay (Andy Mace Award for Outstanding Contribution to Public Relations), and retired editor from KGTV Brad McLellan (Jim Reiman Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Media). Management).

San Diego Union-Tribune staff and contributors won 55 awards, including 18 for first place in categories ranging from humor and real estate to podcast and service program.

Times of San Diego First-Place Awards

  • Websites: News Site: Chris Jennewein, Times of San Diego Staff
  • Online and Daily Newspapers: Election Coverage: Chris Jennewein, “A Voter’s Guide to San Diego County and State Races in the June 7 Primary Elections”
  • Online and Daily Newspapers: Essay/Commentary/Opinion: Chris Jennewein, “Newspapers squandered their monopoly-era profits and now blame Google and Facebook”
  • Online newspapers and daily newspapers: Multicultural: JW August, “The Heritage of a San Diego Park Reverberates During Black History Month, Pioneers of Chicano Culture”
  • Photography — Still: News: Chris Stone, “Daddy’s Girl: Families Welcome Return of Marine Squadrons”
  • Photography — Still image: Photo report: Chris Stone, “Honor Flight’s Last Voyage with WWII, Korean War”
  • Photography — Still Image: Portrait: Chris Stone, “Honor Flight’s Only Female Veteran: Last Trip to DC”
  • Online newspapers and daily newspapers: Headlines: Ken Stone, “Portfolio of Times of San Diego Titles by Ken Stone”
  • Online and Daily Newspapers: Politics/Government: Ken Stone, “The decade of the San Diego GOP debacle: Democrats have won voters 18 times faster since 2012″‘
  • Online and daily newspapers: History: Ken Stone, Chris Stone, “San Diego WWII Vets Recall VJ Day: Hitting the Bars and Banana Cream Pie”

Second Place Award

  • Online newspapers and daily newspapers: Education: Ken Stone, “Fired For Loving Trump? Student teacher sues USD, Biden subpoenas, 2 governors »
  • Online Newspapers and Daily Newspapers: Report – Serious Topic: Ken Stone, “Echo of 9/11 at La Mesa: Lt. Thomas M. Adams and a Monty Pythonesque Loss”
  • Online and Daily Newspapers: Military: Chris Stone, “Witness Raising Iwo Jima Flag During WWII Finally Sees Iconic Statue: ‘So Real'”
  • Online and Daily Newspapers: Sports: Ken Stone, “Fears Arise: Julia Hawkins, 105, Stolen Age World Record in 100 Meters”
  • Photography — Still Image: Feature — Serious Subject: Chris Stone, “Girl Among the Firecrackers: Year of the Tiger Hosted in City Heights”
  • Photography — Still: News: Chris Stone, “Couple Kiss: Families Salute Marine Squadrons”
  • Photography — Still: Sports: Chris Stone, “Tara Davis at the Mt. SAC Relays”
  • Photography — video: News: Chris Stone, Ken Stone, “Video: Honor Flight Veterans Return to San Diego” (below)

Third Place Award

Seven members of Francy Carbajal’s family gather on the Mexican side to wave to him. Photo by Chris Stone

Honorable Mention Award

The Times of San Diego entered its ninth year of publication last spring with an average monthly readership of more than 500,000 readers. The independent local news website was launched on March 14, 2014.

The full list of winners, including college winners, is here.

“We are fortunate that San Diego attracts and retains the best and brightest journalism and communications professionals,” said Eileen Gaffen, chair of the San Diego Press Club board of directors. “On behalf of the San Diego Press Club Board of Directors, congratulations to all the recipients of the Excellence in Journalism Award.”

Judges for this year’s awards program included members of 11 professional journalism organizations from across the country, including press clubs in San Francisco, New Orleans, Rochester, Fla., Cleveland, Orange County, Milwaukee and Alaska.

In addition to the Times of San Diego and the Union-Tribune, media outlets that won multiple awards included:

  • Ranch and Coast Magazine, 28 awards in magazine and photography categories
  • KPBS, 19 Awards in Online Daily Newspaper, Radio/Podcast and Online TV Categories
  • And Ramona Sentinal, 16 awards in the non-daily newspaper category

In the college’s news media division, the names of the schools and student-run newspaper, and the number of awards received include: Southwestern College, Sun and El Sol Magazine, 32; San Diego City College, City Times, 13; and University of San Diego, Vista and TV, 5

Best of Show awards include:

  • Adam Racusin and Geoffrey Stevens, KGTV-TV, “Drugs, Death, and Foster Care”, Best TV Online Video Entry
  • Doug Brunk, Dermatology News, “Restoring Dignity to Sex Trafficking Survivors, One Tattoo Removal at a Time,” Best Non-Daily Journal Entry
  • Salk Communications Team, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, “The Weed that Changed the World,” Best Magazine Entry
  • Ron James, Wine Dine & Travel Magazine Online, Best Website Entry
  • Steve Walsh, KPBS-FM, “The Legacy of the Ongoing War in San Diego Afghanistan,” Best Radio Podcast Entry
  • Jill Castellano,, “Veterans Village: An investigation”, best entry in an online and daily journal
  • Scott LaFee and Heather Buschman, UC San Diego Health Sciences, Discoveries Magazine, generic entry
  • Adam Racusin, KGTV-TV, Adam Racusin Reports, corpus entry

San Diego State University students Gabriel Schneider and Jakob McWhinney, Point Loma Nazarene University student Elaine Alfaro, and Palomar College student Trina McLeary each received $1,500 scholarships at 2 $500 as part of the event.

Updated at 11:50 p.m. on October 26, 2022


Sam Smith reveals details of fourth album Gloria


Jasper County Libraries site with lots of informative and fun programs | New

Check Also