Mysore/Mysore: Announcement that a CA (Civic Amenities) site has been assigned to Mysuru District Journalists Association (MDJA) near Mysore Racecourse (MRC), the District Minister responsible, ST Somashekar assured that he would speak to the Chief Minister and the District Administration about providing grants for the purchase of the site and the construction of the building.

He was speaking after the inauguration of the Newspaper Day celebration organized by the MDJA at the Rani Bahadur auditorium on Hunsur Road here this morning, during which the annual Journalism and Pratibha Puraskar awards to deserving children of members of the MDJA were handed over.

Congratulating MDJA for celebrating Newspaper Day in a resolute manner, Somashekar said introducing Pratibha Puraskar to deserving children of journalists is a good development.

Recounting the work of journalists during the COVID pandemic, Somashekar said the district administration received useful guidance from the scribes, which has helped the government a lot in handling the crisis better.

“I have seen the work of journalists in Mysuru up close over the past two and a half years as the minister in charge of the district. Journalists work under several risks to reach the latest news to readers as quickly as possible, which should be recognized by everyone. The scribes have worked with great responsibility during all times of crisis, including the COVID pandemic, the ravages of rain and other natural disasters, for which the government commends them,” said said the minister in charge of the district, ST Somashekar.

Group Housing Scheme: Emphasizing that in addition to allocating a CA site, the government is also trying to provide houses for journalists in need under the group housing scheme in Mysuru, Somashekar said the group housing program should soon be approved by the government.

Tourism Hub: Referring to Dasara celebrations, the district minister said that the government has decided to celebrate Dasara in a grand way this year and preparations are continuing in this direction. Besides Dasara, Chief Minister Bommai is also keen on making Mysuru an internationally renowned tourist hub, he added.

MDJA President, ST Ravikumar said in his address as the District Minister said that journalists in Mysuru have worked hard in times of test and hardship during the two years of the pandemic. COVID. Thanking everyone who has helped journalists during the pandemic and other crises, Ravikumar said the current MDJA building is located in a busy residential area. Now with the allocation of a CA site, a fully fledged building will be constructed, he said and thanked District Minister ST Somashekar and former MUDA Chairman HV Rajeev for their initiatives in the assignment of the CA site.

Thanking the minister for making an announcement on the allocation of houses to scribes under the collective housing scheme, the MDJA president called on the minister to ensure that houses are available at an affordable price for journalists .

Ravikumar also said that MLCs CN Manjegowda and Dr. D. Thimmaiah have announced the release of Rs.25 lakh each from their local development funds for the construction of the new MDJA building to be constructed at the CA site, for which he was grateful for them.

Somashekar also presented a check of Rs. 50,000 to each of the families of three deceased journalists – C.Maheshwaran from Mysuru and Srinivasmurthy and Ravishankar from Nanjangud, on the occasion.

Karnataka Union of Working Journalists (KUWJ) President Shivananda Tagadur also spoke.

Pratibha Puraskara was presented to the deserving children of journalists who achieved high marks in SSLC and PUC (2021-22).

The following journalists received the MDJA annual awards for the year 2021-22:

Best Kannada Report: Ravichandra Hanchya, Journalist, Praja Satya [Report: Mysuru Gandhigilla Smaraka]

Best Reportage Kannada (Rural): Prathap T. Kodinarasipura, Reporter, Vijayavani, Nanjangud taluk [Report: Pakshigalige Meenu Bale Urulu ].

Best Reporting in English: KK Karthik, Journalist, The New Indian Express [Report:A vision to guide the challenged]

Best Cinematography: MN Lakshminarayana Yadav, Photographer, Mysuru Mithra and Star of Mysore [Photo of Fire & Emergency Services staff rescuing an elderly citizen from the debris of old house that had collapsed due to rain]

Best Electronic Media Reporting: G. Jayanth, Journalist, Doordarshan and Ramu, Cameraman, Doordarshan [Special report on Prani Pakshigala Daha Teerisalu Kere Meesalu]

MC Raghavendra Swamy, Journalist, Doordarshan [Special report on Haggada Darada Chavaniya Avishkara ]

The following veteran journalists were also congratulated on this occasion:

HP Krishnashetty, Senior Sub-Editor, Vijayavani.

Lifetime Achievement: BS Prabhurajan, Special Correspondent, United News of India (UNI); Pragathi Gopalakrishna, photographer, Pragathi Photo News; Machamma Mallige, Senior Sub-Editor, Kannadigara Prajanudi.

Principal photographer: MN Lakshminarayana Yadav, photographer, Mysuru Mithra and Star of Mysore.

Rural journalist: Hullahalli Mohan, Reporter, Amogha TV.

Senior Reporter Visual media: Ram, Reporter, TV9.

Main cameraman Visual media: KV Kiran Kumar, News1.

MP L.Nagendra, Mayor (responsible) Sunanda Palanetra, MLC CNManjegowda, Former MUDA President HVRajeev, ZAK President M.Shivakumar, MDJA Vice President Anurag Basavaraj (Basavanna), General Secretary M .Subramanya and other members of the office were present.


Lyttelton: What makes a city of artists?


Elite Wari craftsman with rare jewelry and tools found at Peruvian site

Check Also